## **GENERAL PURPOSES AND LICENSING COMMITTEE**

Minutes of the meeting held at 7.30 pm on 14 March 2012

## Present:

Councillor Tony Owen (Chairman) Councillors Nicholas Bennett J.P., Roger Charsley, Roxy Fawthrop, John Getgood, Ellie Harmer, Gordon Norrie, Ian F. Payne, Tim Stevens J.P., Harry Stranger and Michael Turner

## Also Present:

**Councillor Douglas Auld** 

## 182 NOMINATIONS FOR APPOINTMENT AS HONORARY ALDERMEN Report RES12050

The Committee was asked to support the nomination of former Councillor Peter Bloomfield as an Honorary Alderman. As a Councillor, Peter Bloomfield represented Darwin Ward for twenty-eight years (1982-2010) and served as Vice-Chairman of Development Control Committee and Chairman of Plans Sub-Committees. Former Councillor Dorothy Laird J.P. was also suggested by the Committee. She had served as member for Plaistow and Sundridge Ward for twenty years (1978-98) and as Mayor in 1992/93.

**RECOMMENDED** that Council appoints former Councillors Peter Bloomfield and Dorothy Laird J.P. as Honorary Aldermen.

DECISION REQUIRED OF COUNCIL

Council to approve the above recommendation